The Different Types of Data Center Tier

Did you know that data centers range from 99.67-99.99% uptimes depending on what tier you choose? Data centers are rated by various standards which are used to evaluate the reliability and the quality of the hosting ability of the data centre. There are various steps which can be taken to elevate a data centre’s reliability and quality of services. A Tier III data center offers businesses peace of mind providing increased redundancy and superior uptime. Pathway Communications provide excellent data centre solutions for businesses.

The ranking system utilized to rank data centers is listed below:

  • Tier I
  • Tier II
  • Tier III
  • Tier IV

Tier I

The lowest ranked tier for data centers, Tier I data centers have no built-in redundancy. They do provide adequate power for small-sized servers. The businesses that utilize Tier 1 data centers are typically small. With a Tier 1 data center, there is an average of 28.8 hours of downtime each year. This means their systems are not available to users or customers for that period of downtime.

Without redundancy, when the server goes down or power is cut to systems, there is no way to access computer systems. Businesses are dead in the water. This means no employees could work.

Tier 2

With a Tier II data center, there is partial redundancy built-in. This redundancy is for power and cooling systems. This means if the power goes out, a battery backup kicks in to maintain power to servers and network infrastructure. This allows customers to continue placing orders and staff to continue working. The average downtime for a Tier II data center is approximately twenty-two hours.

There is also redundancy for cooling systems as well. Computer equipment puts off a great deal of heat. If the temperature grows too hot, it can cause servers and network components to fail. Cooling is important.

Tier 3

Tier III data centers are relied upon by larger businesses. They experience just 1.6 hours of downtime per year which is a substantial improvement over Tier I and Tier II data centers. Tier III data centers are N+1 fault tolerant which offers a minimum of 72-hour power backup. Access remains intact for staff and customers while on battery backup.

Tier 4

Typically utilized for enterprise corporations, Tier IV business data centre services are 2N+1 fault tolerant with full redundancy. It offers 96-hour outage protection and only 26.3 minutes of downtime.

Tier 3 data center is the standard tier for data centres in Canada. Pathway Communications offers the best in data center services.

We offer the following:

  • Disaster Recovery
  • Cooling and Power Redundancy
  • Network Operation

When looking for data center services providers, look no further than Pathway Communications. Pathway Communications provides top quality data centre services, and can help you transform your current setup. Reach out to us today to learn more.

Copyright © 2023 Pathway Communications. All Rights Reserved. Pathway Legal | Complaint Process | Pathway Ethics |Blog | Sitemap | Marketed by: MacRAE'S - Digital Marketing Agency